Covers: A Challenge for the Self-Published

I’m nowhere near ready to have any of my work published. That being said, I still look for advice and opinions on publishing. Cover design is ver important. I’m one of those people who picks up a book based on the cover. I look at the title first, then the cover and finally the back cover (if you only have reviews of your other books, I’m not buying it). The make or break decision comes down to if I’m going to buy the book. If it’s an ebook, I’m actually less likely to pay any attention to the cover. I don’t have to look at an ebook cover sitting on my coffee table or shelf and be annoyed if I don’t like it.

Writers In The Storm Blog

Jacqueline Diamond   Writers in the Storm welcomes Jacqueline Diamond, author of over 95 novels, including romantic comedy, romantic suspense, fantasy, mystery and Regency historical romance. A two-time finalist for the Rita Award, Jackie received a Career Achievement Award from Romantic Times and is a former reporter and TV columnist for the Associated Press. She writes the Safe Harbor Medical miniseries for Harlequin American Romance and is revising and reissuing some of her old favorites as e-books.

 By Jacqueline Diamond

As a reader, you may scan dozens of covers each time you select a book. Some appeal to you instantly; some put you off. Others are confusing. You wonder, Why isn’t this obvious to the cover designer?

Then one day you self-publish a book and have to design, choose or commission a cover of your own. Even a previously published book needs a new design since rights to the original cover…

View original post 630 more words

Leave a Reply

